Our Board

Our plc board is highly-experienced in corporate governance, providing a high level of scrutiny and accountability while shaping our culture to ensure we create value for our stakeholders over the long-term.

Our board ensures our business is progressive and innovative while maintaining its commercial focus and a robust approach to risk management.


All Board Members 910X512 0007 Alison

Alison Wood

Non-executive Chair

Chair of the Nomination Committee, Member of the Remuneration Committee

Alison joined the Board as Non-executive Director with effect from 1 April 2022 and was appointed Chair of the Board and Chair of the Nomination Committee on 21 September 2022. Alison has extensive experience from previous roles including Group Strategic Director at BAE Systems, Global Director of Strategy and Corporate Development at National Grid PLC. Alison is a Non-executive Director at TT Electronics PLC and Oxford Instruments PLC, Oxford Instruments PLC and the British Standards Institution.

All Board Members 910X512 0009 Bill

Bill Hocking

Chief Executive

Executive Director and member of the Executive Board

Bill Hocking was appointed to Galliford Try’s Board as Chief Executive on 3 January 2020 following the sale of the Group’s housing businesses. Prior to that, Bill was Chief Executive of Construction & Investments from 1 August 2016, having joined Galliford Try as Managing Director of Construction in September 2015. He joined the Group from Skanska UK plc, where he held the position of Executive Vice President on the Executive Management Team of Skanska UK from 2008, having initially joined the company in 1990. 

All Board Members 910X512 0003 Andrew

Andrew Duxbury

Finance Director

Executive Director and member of the Executive Board

Andrew Duxbury was appointed Group Finance Director in March 2019. Andrew joined Galliford Try in March 2012 as Group Financial Controller and from 2016, held a number of operational finance roles, including Finance Director of Linden Homes. Andrew is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and, prior to joining Galliford Try, he worked for PwC. 

All Board Members 910X512 0004 Marisa

Marisa Cassoni

Non-executive Director and Senior Independent Director

Chair of the Audit Committee

Member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committees

Marisa Cassoni was appointed to the Board on 1 September 2018.

Marisa is a chartered accountant with more than 40 years’ experience as a finance professional. Her previous roles include Group Finance Director of the John Lewis Partnership, Royal Mail Group, Britannic Assurance Group and Prudential UK Group. Marisa has more than 20 years’ experience as an Executive Board member. Marisa was also formerly a Non-executive Director of Skipton Building Society and and Ei Group plc. 

All Board Members 910X512 0001 Sally

Sally Boyle

Non-executive Director

Chair of the Remuneration Committee

Member of the Audit and Nomination committees.

Sally joined the Board as Non-executive Director on 1 May 2022 and became Chair of the Group's Employee Forum on 1 June 2023. She has extensive experience from roles including the law firm Simmons and Simmons and Goldman Sachs International as Partner and Head of Human Capital Management. Sally also sat on the board of Goldman Sachs International. Sally is a Non-executive Director of the Royal Air Force. 

MT For Website

Michael Topham

Non-executive Director

Member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination committees.

Michael was appointed to the Board on 1 June 2023. 

Michael is the Chief Executive Officer of Biffa Ltd. He joined Biffa in 2010 and was appointed to the role of Chief Financial Officer in 2013. In 2018, he became Chief Executive of Biffa. Michael has over 25 years of executive management experience and is a Chartered Accountant and Director of the Environmental Services Association (ESA).


Executive Board Members

All Board Members 910X512 0002 Kevin

Kevin Corbett CEng MICE MIStructE

General Counsel and Company Secretary

Member of the Executive Board

Kevin Corbett joined the Executive Board of Galliford Try plc on 1 February 2012 and was appointed General Counsel and Company Secretary on 1 March 2012. Kevin was previously Chief Counsel Global for AECOM. 

All Board Members 910X512 0000 Ian

Ian Jubb

Managing Director, Building

Member of the Executive Board

Ian Jubb was appointed to the Executive Board of Galliford Try on 3 January 2020. He joined the Group as Managing Director for the North and Scotland Building Division on the acquisition of Miller Construction in July 2014, subsequently taking responsibility for all Building operations in May 2019. He has more than 37 years’ experience in the construction industry, with the last 20 including senior positions with Miller Construction and Taylor Woodrow.

Vikki Skene Website Background

Vikki Skene

HR Director

Member of the Executive Board

Vikki Skene joined the Executive Board of Galliford Try on 3 January 2020, having initially joined the Group in June 2016 as HR Director of its Construction & Investments business. She has more than 20 years’ experience in both construction and HR and was previously UK Employee Relations Director at Balfour Beatty, where she held a number of senior HR roles. 

All Board Members 910X512 0011 Mark

Mark Baxter

Managing Director, Specialist Services

Member of the Executive Board

Mark Baxter was appointed to the Executive Board of Galliford Try on 3 January 2020. He joined the Group in February 2014 from Miller Construction, taking on responsibility for the Group’s Investments Division. In March 2018, Mark additionally took on responsibility for the FM Division and, in 2019, the specialist businesses Rock and Alluvium and Oak Dry Lining. With more than 20 years of industry and PPP experience, he has held a number of senior roles including Director for all PPP activities at Miller Construction.